Yesterday’s Blues

Standard

Yesterday’s Blues

Don’t cry Sister, don’t cry

Life ain’t supposed to be easy

I know you ask, why

Don’t cry, not for long anyway

Why so much pain? Why so much sorrow?

Humph, Why not?

 

Sister, you got something inside of you

That you haven’t tapped into yet

That gifting will cost you some tears,

perseverance,

and sweat!

 

Don’t cry,  don’t cry too long

Get up from there and sing life a pretty song

What kind of song you say?

A love song,

A song full of the blues you experienced

yesterday

 

Sing a song that only sisters understand

Sing me a song Sister

Tell me about your pain

Share with me what you learned along the way

Make me laugh and cry and sing along

 

Sing me a song of the blues you experienced… yesterday

I’ll dance, and sing, and shout, and sway

sing me a song, Sister

of the blues you experienced yesterday

And remember my Sister,

That was yesterday…

2 responses »

  1. I love the picture that I chose for this poem. The soft blue hues with the wind blowing on the dancer as she walks away from her past pain slowly moving on into her future…still somehow formed and shaped by yesterday’s blues.

Leave a Reply

